Highlights: IND vs SL 2022, 2nd Test, Day 2 Latest Score and Updates

Sri Lanka lost opener Lahiru Thirimanne but skipper Dimuth Karunaratne and Kusal Mendis held Bumrah and Shami at bay. They were 28/1 when Stumps was called.

Exam of day 1

Fast bowlers – Jasprit Bumrah (3/15), Mohammed Shami (2/18) – along with batter Shreyas Iyer (92) put India in a dominant position against Sri Lanka on the fast opening day of the second and final test (pink ball match) at Chinnaswamy Stadium on Saturday.

Sri Lanka was 86-6 in its first inning at the stumps, trailing India by 166 runs. Niroshan Dickwella (13 of 29) and Lasith Embuldeniya (0) were undefeated at the end of the day in Bengaluru.

After beating India for 252 in their first innings, Sri Lanka didn’t show much application in their batting as Bumrah and Shami had plenty of movement under the lights and shook the first order of visitors.

Bumrah gave India the first breakthrough, clipping the outside edge of Kusal Mendis and Lahiru Thirimanne within five overs of a swinging ball. Shami hit his first ball to overthrow skipper Dimuth Karunaratne and a clever Rohit Sharma criticism gave Shami his second as Silva’s Dhananjaya had his leg jammed before.

Axar Patel then pulled aside Charith Asalanka (5) to reduce Sri Lanka to 50/5. However, India faced some resistance from Angelo Mathews and Niroshan Dickwella who added 35 runs for the sixth wicket. Mathews, who scored 43 points, skillfully played spinners Axar and Jadeja. He used his feet, played on the back foot for most games, but pushed one on Bumrah just two overs from the stumps on the second slide.

Bumrah could have had his fourth, but India didn’t see a low, full pitch that hit Embuldeniya in front.

Earlier in the day India won the coin toss and opted to strike first but the hosts got off to a poor start as Mayank Agarwal was exhausted in four. In the second set of innings, there was an appeal for a front leg against Agarwal which was dismissed. The Indian batters thought they could squeeze in a run and Mayank ran down the field.

However, there was some confusion from Rohit at the other end and the Sri Lankans took full advantage and drove Agarwal away. Hanuma Vihari then joined Rohit Sharma at the crease. The duo added 19 runs for the second wicket before Lasith Embuldeniya fired Rohit for 15.

On a flying delivery, Rohit rushed into the front defense and gained an outside advantage as Dhananjaya de Silva stayed low to take a good hold, leaving India struggling at 29-2 after 9, 3 overs.

From there, Virat Kohli, who received strong cheers on his IPL pitch, and Vihari stabilized the Indian innings. Vihari punished short balls and sewed up a handy 47 run support for the third wicket before Vihari fell against Jayawickrama on the 31st. Soon Kohli was also trapped in front of the wicket on the 23rd by Silva’s Dhananjaya before the tea break.

Resuming the second session at 93/4, the runs came quickly for India as Rishabh Pant played some attacking shots. With seven limits, Pant ran 39 on 26 balls before being cleared by Embuldeniya. Ravindra Jadeja (4), who came to bat next, didn’t last long as Embuldeniya scalped another wicket. R Ashwin then joined Shreyas Iyer in the crease and helped the hosts regain stability by forging a handy 35 back for the seventh wicket.

Just as it looked like the Iyer-Ashwin partnership was putting India in a strong position, De Silva gave Sri Lanka the breakthrough, taking out Ashwin for 13. However, Iyer continued to hammer the boundaries at the other end and reached his fiftieth birthday despite not having one. get a lot of support from the following hitters – Axar Patel (9) and Mohammed Shami (5).

With India at 229-9, Iyer decided to go all out and broke some towering sixes and closed in on his century. He was eventually fired for 92 and India were knocked out for 252 in their first innings.

Praveen Jayawickrama (3/81), Lasith Embuldeniya (3/94), Dhananjaya de Silva (2/32) and Suranga Lakmal (1/12) were the wicket takers for Sri Lanka.

Brief scores

India 252 all out in 59.1 overs (Shreyas Iyer 92, Rishabh Pant 39; Praveen Jayawickrama 3/81) Sri Lanka 86-6 after 30 overs (Angelo Mathews 43; Jasprit Bumrah 3/15)

Get all the latest updates on Cricket News, Cricket Photos, Cricket Videos, IPL Auction 2022 and cricket scores here

Comments are closed.