Ric Flair confirms nagging injury ahead of final game

Ric Flair has confirmed he is struggling with a nagging injury ahead of his “last game”.

Speaking as a guest on the Busted Open podcast, Flair said that while he’s been feeling fine recently, the bottom of his foot was really sore. He said the injury was serious enough to affect him in his daily life, but he doesn’t think it will cause him a problem in his “last game”. He said he would overcome the pain if necessary.

Flair also described some of the preparation he did with Jay Lethal before the game. Flair said he trained hard in the gym, working out for two days before taking a day off and repeating that throughout the week.

While the original match was to be Flair teaming up with FTR to take on the Rock N’ Roll Express with a mystery opponent, it has now been confirmed that Flair will team up with son-in-law Andrade El Idolo to take on former rivals Jay Lethal and Jeff Jarrett. The card will be part of the festivities surrounding Starrcast V in Nashville, Tennessee.

El Idolo married Flair’s daughter, Charlotte, earlier this year. The two started dating in early 2019 when they were both in WWE. Andrade now works for AEW.

Flair and Lethal had some memorable interactions in TNA in the early 2000s. Lethal delivered one of the most memorable promos of his career during their feud. Flair also memorably tried to give away Hulk Hogan’s Hall of Fame ring and the two clashed at Victory Road 10. Meanwhile, Flair and Jarrett go back to their WCW and WWF days. , continuing to have their issues when they both jumped to TNA.

The pay-per-view for Ric Flair’s final match begins July 31 at 7 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. CT / 4 p.m. PT. Pre-order the event now here on FiteTV.

Got a tip or fix? Send it to [email protected]

Join Wrestling Inc. Last Minute Alerts

Comments are closed.